Vegan Chocolate - VeganBible.org
The Vegan Bible is the answer to all your vegan lifestyle and recipes questions.
veganism,vegan,vegan bible,vegan recipes,vegan food,vegan lifestyle
545
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-545,single-format-standard,qode-quick-links-1.0,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode_grid_1300,footer_responsive_adv,qode-theme-ver-13.6,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.4.5,vc_responsive

Vegan Chocolate

Vegan Chocolate

Chocolate is made from cocoa beans and so they are vegan right? Wrong!

Although the main ingredient in chocolate is the cocoa bean, the process it takes to make chocolate up until it’s packaged for you to buy from the store, involves the addition of other ingredients some of which are definitely not vegan friendly. These ingredients include milk, sometimes honey, milk fat among others.

High quality chocolate is vegan friendly because it’s often made from sugar, cocoa, lecithin, cocoa butter and in some instances vanilla. It’s a tasty nutritional treat but you cannot tell easily which high chocolates are made of these few ingredients easily.

Some chocolates have no traces of animal products yet they are not labelled vegan. Some may have a warning indicating that they may contain milk. If you see such, then this is an indication that during the production of the chocolate, there was a possibility of contamination since most manufacturers of vegan chocolates also create other types of chocolates that are not necessarily vegan.

Decadent chocolate treats come with a wide range of options and prices. Some vegan chocolates tend to be more expensive because they are processed from smaller operations and are specifically produced for vegans. Good thing with such is that you do not have to worry about any cross contamination and the quality of ingredients used in making them is often higher. There are also many affordable vegan chocolate brands in the market so ultimately it all depends on your taste and how much you’re willing to spend.

Where To Find Vegan Chocolate

The world is becoming more sensitive to the needs of the increasing vegan population and chocolate manufactures are no different. Today you will find many vegan chocolates labelled as such in almost any store you walk into. To get you started in the right direction if you’re vegan or are considering becoming vegan, here are a couple of chocolate brands that are whey free, dairy free and casein free. These brands are what we refer to as accidentally vegan because they are not labeled vegan but by virtue of their ingredients are vegan friendly. They include:

  • Chocolove- a dark chocolate with orange peel
  • Ritter Spot- these come in two variations: chocolate mint light blue in color and Marzipan which is red.
  • Trader Joe’s chocolate chips brand
  • Green and Blacks Chocolate (organic). This is a dark chocolate.
  • Newman’s Chocolate Bars- you can go for either sweet dark orange or sweet dark espresso. They can be organic or regular varieties.
  • Fanny May’s chocolate bars (Dark). They contain 70% dark chocolate.
  • Organic Equal Exchange Chocolate- these come in all flavors with the exception of milk chocolate.

Other than the accidentally vegan options, we also have strictly vegan brands which are either organic or fair-trade. These include:

  • Sunspire and tropical source- comes in form of chocolate bars or chocolate chips.
  • Whole Foods Brand Chocolate- you can choose dark chocolate or dark chocolate with almonds option.
  • Endangered Species Chocolate- it’s dark chocolate that comes in a variety flavors.
  • Whole foods chocolate chips brand.
  • Dagoba
  • Bug Bites
  • Plamil organic vegan chocolate which is fair trade
  • Sjaaks
  • Terra Nostra Rice Milk vegan choc bars.

Here Are The 5 Best Non-Dairy Milk Alternatives

5 Awesome Vegan Christmas Cookie Ideas to Try This Year… Not just with Christmas as these are simply delicious! From Vegan Chocolate Peppermint Cookies to Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies.

 

Comments

comments