Is Miso Soup Vegan? - VeganBible.org
The Vegan Bible is the answer to all your vegan lifestyle and recipes questions.
veganism,vegan,vegan bible,vegan recipes,vegan food,vegan lifestyle
954
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-954,single-format-standard,qode-quick-links-1.0,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode_grid_1300,footer_responsive_adv,qode-theme-ver-13.6,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.4.5,vc_responsive
Is miso soup vegan

Is Miso Soup Vegan?

You’ve probably eaten Miso soup hundreds of times. Probably it was 100% vegetarian or not. The preparation of miso soup is different in different places around the world. More countries are more vegan aware than other countries. For instance, the UK and the USA always have vegan options in virtually every establishment. In countries like Japan, the concept of veganism and vegetarianism is quite different hence in one place miso soup may be vegan and in another, it may not.

Japanese miso soup contains fish because vegetarian for many Asians excludes fish. Expect to find fish and fish sauce in dishes that are labelled vegan or vegetarian.

Miso

This is primarily derived from soy beans, which is a grain that resembles rice or barley and some salt. It is therefore safe to conclude that miso is vegan friendly unless it has been produced in a factory that also processes non-vegetarian ingredients. For years on end, miso has been a popular with people on a plant-based diet traditionally as fermented soy contains a number of health benefits such as having a high content of protein and vitamin B12 which are among the nutrients that many vegetarians lack from their plant-based diet.

Miso soup

Miso soup is originally a Japanese dish. It has been a plant-based protein source for hundreds of years. It is naturally vegan and vegetarian thus suitable to people on most diets. It is the stock used in preparing miso soup that determines whether it is vegan or not. Commonly referred to as ‘dashi’, the stock used can be fish-based as with the case with Japanese miso soup. For this reason, you need to ask the kind of stock used before taking if you are vegan. 

Nevertheless, most of the other restaurants prepare miso soup with vegan stock. You can even decide to make miso soup yourself. The idea that you can only make stock for your miso soup using fish or seafood is far from the truth. Miso soup stock can be made with different or a combination of ingredients. In the case of Japanese miso soup, 2 out of 5 types of dashi are completely vegan because it is made with Kombu, also edible kelp or dried shiitake mushrooms.

As you can see, you can choose which dashi to use based on your dietary requirements. In just 30 minutes, you can prepare yourself a bowl of some delicious vegan miso soup. To prepare vegan miso soup, you will need ingredients like:

  • Kombu or edible kelp
  • Water
  • Miso, fermented soybean
  • Tofu which can be medium firm or silken
  • Wakame, dried seaweed

Scallions or red onions for garnish which are optional.

In any case, miso soup is very versatile. One can incorporate all sorts of vegetables, meats or seafood. For a vegan, meats would be out of the question.

We can conclude that miso soup is vegan. It is made from vegan stock and products that are derived from plant sources. What can be more vegan than that?

 

Ever asked yourself if wine is vegan?

And what about beer?

So exactly What is Vegan or Not?

Comments

comments