How do Vegans Make Cake? -
The Vegan Bible is the answer to all your vegan lifestyle and recipes questions.
veganism,vegan,vegan bible,vegan recipes,vegan food,vegan lifestyle
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-970,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode_grid_1300,footer_responsive_adv,qode-theme-ver-13.6,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.4.5,vc_responsive
vegan cake

How do Vegans Make Cake?

Most people believe that a party is incomplete without a celebratory cake. As you know, traditional cakes use dairy-based ingredients. This is very problematic for a vegan because the vegan lifestyle is all about abstaining from animal products and byproducts which includes dairy-based ingredients. Fortunately, it is possible for a vegan to still enjoy delicious vegan cake.

Here is how vegans make cake;

  1. Vegans review the cake recipes to determine the non-vegan ingredients which are typically the eggs, butter, milk, and refined white sugar at times.
  2. They will then search the pantry for items that make good substitutes for the non-vegan ingredients.
  • Eggs can be substituted by bananas and applesauce
  • Butter can be substituted by margarine
  1. For a vegan cake, the use of eggs is omitted from the recipe and replaced with comparable ingredients. An egg can be replaced with 2 tablespoons of flax seed stirred in 3 tablespoons of water. It can also be replaced by mashing half a banana or 3 tablespoons of applesauce. Lastly, an egg can be replaced with ¼ cup of blended soft tofu. If these options are not available, vegans can always buy vegan egg replacement products which is usually non-dairy powdered mix found in health food stores.
  2. The dairy-based ingredient milk can be replaced with non-dairy alternatives. The common replacements for milk are soy and almond milk which are most preferred for baking. Vegans can also use hemp, coconut or hazelnut milk. When using either of these substitutes, the measure still remains the same as when using dairy milk.
  3. Vegans substitute the butter with equal amounts of a vegan butter alternative like margarine. They ensure that the margarine is not made with animal-based ingredients. Pure vegan margarine can be found in most health stores. Applesauce can also be used as a substitute for butter.
  4. When it comes to sugar, vegans choose a vegan sugar substitute which is healthier than refined brown or white sugar. The healthier alternatives are granulated cane sugar, date sugar or plant-based sweeteners. The measurement of granulated cane sugar is the same as that for white or brown sugar. However, date sugar and plant-based sweeteners should be used in less amounts. These alternatives to refined sugar are much sweeter. Other alternatives are liquid sweeteners like barley malt and maple syrup but these should be used sparingly.
  5. Flour, which makes the chunk of the cake cane be replaced with healthier alternatives. Vegans use non-refined flours made with barley, brown rice, potato, and Kamut as substitutes for white flour. All these products can be found in a health store. Rolled oats can also be used as a white flour substitute.
  6. Lastly, vegan cake frosting is made from blended tofu and cooking oil or margarine.

These are the simple steps that vegans use to make cake. There is nothing complex about it. They only need to find alternatives to the animal-based ingredients which are readily available. You might find that a vegan cake is much sweeter than the traditional cake.

Egg substitutes:

Here are 5 Delicious Vegan Birthday Cake Recipes.